Marriage Intentions

The first step towards getting married in Massachusetts is to file a Marriage Intention to obtain a Marriage License.

Getting Married in Massachusetts

Couples must follow these instructions to begin the process:

  1. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age.

  2. Both parties must come in person to the Registry to fill out the 'Marriage Intention Form for a Marriage License.' Marriage Intention Forms cannot be processed through the mail (some special conditions may apply - see below).

  3. Both parties must show valid government-issued photo ID (driver’s license, state ID, or passport).

  4. Both parties must know their Social Security numbers to complete their Marriage Intention Form.

  5. The couple must pay a $50.00 application fee at the time of filing the intention form.

  6. There is a mandatory three (3) calendar day waiting period between the date intentions are filed and the date the license can be picked up in person. The couple will receive a small white card with the date on which they can pick up their license. 
    Marriage License Information

Information Needed for Marriage Intention


Couples should be prepared to provide information such as:
  • Legal first, middle, and last names (and know what surname/last name you will use after marriage);

  • Address(es);

  • Date of Birth(s);

  • Occupation(s),

  • Declare if this is the first, second, etc. marriage and the status of the last marriage (widowed, divorced, etc.). If divorced, provide finalized divorce date. If annulled, bring a copy of the papers;

  • Birth place(s) – City/Town, State, Country; and

  • Parents' names including mother’s maiden/family name, and if their parents were married at the time of their birth.

Special Conditions

If either party being married is a resident of Massachusetts and one is on Active Military Duty and not in Massachusetts, please call the Registrar’s Office (617-635-4175) for additional information.

If special circumstances exist (ex. hospitalization, incarceration, or medical conditions) that prevent one of the parties from applying in person, please contact the Registrar’s Office (617-635-4175) to see if the circumstances meet the Massachusetts General Law Conditions.

Frequently Asked Questions

+Expand All Answers
What if I do not have a Social Security Number?
My prior marriage was annulled. Do I have to provide anything?
How much does a Marriage License cost?
Do we have to be Boston residents in order to apply in Boston?
Can I get married in Boston or another city or town in Massachusetts?
What if either party is under 18?
How long after my divorce can I get married?
Is there a blood test requirement?

Office Information

  • Hours of Operation

    Monday9AM - 4PM
    Tuesday9AM - 4PM
    Wednesday CLOSED
    Thursday9AM - 4PM
    Friday9AM - 4PM

  • Holidays

    We are closed on 11 City-recognized holidays.

    View List of City Holidays

  • Address

    Registry Division
    1 City Hall Square, Rm 213
    Boston, MA 02201-2006

Fees & Payments

  • Marriage License Application

    Fee: $50
    Cash or money order. Payable at time of filing your Marriage Intention.

  • Marriage License Reprinting Fee

    Fee: $12
    If reprints are needed.

  • Certified Copy Fees

    In Person: $12 per request
    By Mail: $14 per request
    Time of Birth ONLY: $10 research charge

    *Records prior to 1870: Additional $10 research charge

  • Payment Options

    In Person: Cash, check (with ID), or money order.
    By Mail: Check or money order.

    Please make check or money order payable to the City of Boston.

Related Links