About the Burying Grounds

The Historic Burying Grounds Initiative manages sixteen different burying grounds located in Boston. These sites range in date from 1630 to 1841. Gravestones, tomb markers and monuments honor the many founding members of the community including Revolutionary War heroes, and men and women of national and international fame.

Three burying grounds -Granary, King's Chapel and Copp's Hill- are located along Boston's Freedom Trail and attract thousands of visitors annually. Eight historic burying grounds are listed on the National Register of Historic Places; two sites, Central and Walter Street, are National Historic Landmarks; two sites, Central and Dorchester North, are designated Boston Landmarks; the Granary lies within the Beacon Hill Architectural District; the South End Burying Ground is located within the South End Landmark District; and the Eliot (Eustis Street) Burying Ground lies within the Eustis Street Architectural Conservation District. Three cemeteries are active at the present time: Evergreen Cemetery (1850), Fairview Cemetery (c. 1893) and Mt Hope Cemetery (1852).

List of Burying Grounds


  • Read Our Latest Newsletter!

    Read about the history of the South End Burying Ground, an update on the Copp's Hill conservation, and more.

    Sign Up

    Spring 2016 newsletter