Paid Details

Why you need a Paid Fire Detail?

  • It is a required condition of the permit.

  • There is a life safety condition in a building such as a disabled fire alarm or sprinkler system.  The District Fire Chief requires you to have a fire detail as a condition of the building remaining occupied throughout the duration of inoperability of the fire protection systems. This is to ensure the continuous protection of life and property.

  • See the Boston Fire Prevention Code (BFPC) 1.05.

Services provided by a Paid Fire Detail:

  • Preventing fires

  • Extinguishing incipient fires

  • Summoning additional help in the event of an emergency

  • Preventing overcrowding and ensuring exit areas are clear

  • Assisting with orderly and timely evacuations

  • Provide first responder level emergency service

How to request a Fire Detail:

  • Only an authorized agent of the contractor whose name is on the permit may schedule, change or cancel a paid detail. 

  • Request a paid fire detail by filling out and submitting the form provided through the link.

  • All requests for a fire detail must be submitted by 1:00pm the day prior to the requested detail date. For Saturday, Sunday or Monday requests, the deadline is 1:00pm on Friday.

  • If you need to cancel, change information on, or have any questions about a fire detail, you can contact the Boston Fire Department Detail Office at 617-343-2836 or 617-343-2838.  The detail office is open from 6am to 5pm Monday through Friday.
  • There is a 24 hour notice requirement for the cancellation of paid details.  There is a 4 hour minimum for all details.  Details cancelled without 24 hour notice will be billed for 4 hours.

In the event the detail office is closed (weekends, nights or holidays) you can contact the Boston Fire Alarm Office at 617-343-2880 and they will connect you to the appropriate district chief to answer your questions.


  • Hourly detail rates vary View Hourly Detail Rates 

  • Equipment is $50.00/hour (For Fire Pump, Ladder Trucks etc.)

  • There is an additional 10% administrative fee for all equipment and services.


  • It is the contractor‎’‎s responsibility to obtain current rates and charges.‎‎

  • ‎There is a 4 ‎hour minimum requirement on all details.‎

  • All details will be billed at time and a half after 8 hours.‎

  • Double Time will be billed for details performed on all BFD Contractual Holidays.

All details must be paid for within 30 days of invoicing or existing permits will be subject to revocation or future permits will not be issued.


Latest Fire Prevention News

  • Just to get you there a little faster

    Quick Links below:

    2016 Registered Cleaners and Inspectors

    Request a paid fire detail

    Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detector Inspection

  • The Massachusetts Firefighting Academy is offering a Nightclub Fire Safety Program

    designed to deliver an overview of nightclub fire safety laws and regulations for fire and building officials, as well as all owners and managers.  Please read for more information

    Nightclub Fire Safety Program

  • Summertime & BBQ Safety Tips from Boston Fire

    Think "safety first" when planning your summer activities and barbecues. Boston Fire has some helpful summer safety tips available and reminds residents of important summertime regulations in the City.

    Leave the Fireworks to the Professionals

    Summary of Massachusetts Fireworks Law MGL Chapter 148, S. 39

    Barbecue Safety Information

    Summer Safety Tips

  • New Air Pressurized Standpipe Requirements

    In the City of Boston during constuction or demolition in high rise buildings (70 feet or higher) an air pressurized standpipe is required to be in place in the building. The effective date for this requirement in Boston is on all construction applications received from August 15, 2015 on.  Please read the documents below for more information.

    Air Pressurized Dry Standpipe Summary

    Requirements for Air Pressurized Standpipes

  • Hazardous Material Process or Processing

    Read below for all information required to be in compliance when processessing hazardous materials as defined under 527 CMR 1.00 c 60.

    Hazardous Material Process or Processing

    Form FP 300

    Form FP 310 - Fire Department's Inspector Checklist

  • A new Comprehensive Model Fire Code (527 CMR 1.00) has been adopted by the Division of Fire Services and the State Fire Marshal's Office effective January 1, 2015 replacing the current 527 CMR.

    The new code adopts, in large part, the National Fire Prevention Association’s (NFPA) Model Fire Code (NFPA-1- 2012 Edition), with Massachusetts amendments. The new code should result in an improved, more comprehensive fire safety code, using consensus standards recognized throughout the nation. This new code will replace the current 527 CMR. More information can be obtained by visiting the Department of Fire Services website.

  • New Ordinance Enacted in Boston

    Regulating the use and sale of outdoor cooking appliances, outdoor patio and space heaters, outdoor decorative appliances, and outdoor fireplaces. On July 30, 2014 the Boston City Council amended the Boston Fire Prevention Code by passing Article XXXIII of the Boston Fire Prevention Code.

    Article XXXIII of the Boston Fire Prevention Code

  • Candle Usage Guidelines, Definitions and Application for Candle Usage in a Place of Assembly

    Read the new Candle Guidelines that are in effect October 1, 2012. The Boston Fire Department requires that the use of candles in a Place of Assembly be permitted as defined in the attached document.

    Candle Usage Guidelines, Definitions and Application for Candle Usage in a Place of Assembly

  • Effective April 1, 2014 Boston has a Revised Upholstered Furniture, Molding Seating and Re-upholstered Furniture Policy

    Effective April 1, 2014 the Boston Fire Department shall modify its upholstered seating regulations to more closely align with the current state regulations: 527 CMR 1.00 c 12, "Upholstered Furniture, Molded Seating and Re-upholstered Furniture.  This change will effectively reduce the number of regulated use groups in the City of Boston.

    Although this modified policy closely follows the requirements of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Regulations, there are still some notable exceptions that shall be strictly enforced.  This policy is subject to modification at the discretion of the Boston Fire Marshal.

    More Chemist Information

  • Important gas safety information for residents of Hyde Park from Eversource

    Eversource delivers natural gas safely and reliably to customers in the neighborhood of Hyde Park. We ask those residents especially to take a moment to review the following important gas safety information regarding pipeline operations and safety:

    Eversource gas safety information


Related Links