Boston to Join C40 Global Climate Leadership Group
Mayor Walsh announces 2014 Climate Action Plan Steering Committee
| | More
For Immediate Release
April 04, 2014
Released By:
Mayor's Office
For More Information Contact:
Mayor's Press Office

Boston—Mayor Martin J. Walsh today announced that Boston will be joining the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40), an invitation-only global network of cities on the front line of preparing for and helping prevent climate change.  The Mayor also announced the creation of the 2014 Climate Action Plan Steering Committee, which will help guide the update of Boston’s Climate Action Plan.

“The City of Boston is proud to join the C40 and be recognized as a global leader on climate action,” said Mayor of Boston Martin J. Walsh. “Boston must take a proactive position on the global stage on a variety of issues, and climate change is chief among them.  Through the 2014 Climate Action Plan Update, Boston will continue its leadership tradition, ensuring that Boston stays on track to meeting its aggressive climate goals.”

Cities are invited to join the C40 based on population size, economic output, and commitment and leadership in taking action on climate change.  Boston’s participation in the C40 will open up greater opportunities for sharing what the city has done and benefiting from insights and partnerships with cities in C40’s global network. Boston is the latest North American city to join C40 – other recent additions include Washington, DC and Vancouver, Canada.

“I am excited to welcome Boston to the C40. Founded in 1630, the city has a history of developing and successfully implementing innovative solutions to urban challenges,” said C40 Chair, Mayor Eduardo Paes of Rio de Janeiro. “Boston, through a series of climate adaptation and mitigation strategies, is already a demonstrated leader and we have much to learn from them. In turn, our vast global network with their wealth of experience can help Boston tackle many of the challenges that lie ahead.” 

Boston’s Climate Action Plan is the city’s strategic plan to reach its carbon reduction goals of 25 percent by 2020 and 80 percent by 2050, as well as to prepare Boston for the impacts of climate change. This will mark the second update of this triennial plan. The Steering Committee will draw on Boston’s talented community and business sustainability leaders, as well as subject matter experts to advise on the process and ensure that the city is on track to meeting its goals.

“This is a community-wide plan, and we must have broad support and buy-in from all neighborhoods and sectors,” said Brian Swett, Chief of Environment, Energy and Open Space. “The Steering Committee offers a superb group of diverse individuals to work with City staff, decision makers, and our consultants to create a world-class climate action plan.”

Working closely with Mayor Walsh and his Cabinet members, the Steering Committee will play an advisory role to the overall process, strategy development, and community engagement. Community input is already being collected online via, and at community “Meet-ups.” The City is also hosting the Greenovate Boston Community Summit on May 31, which will include the 8th Annual Mayor's Greenovate Awards, and provide a unique opportunity for residents, businesses and community organizations to connect with each other, learn, and help shape the future of sustainability in Boston. 


2014 Climate Action Plan Steering Committee Members

Andrew Kendall

Henry P. Kendall Foundation, Executive Director

Anthony Janetos

The Frederick S. Pardee Center for the Study of the Longer-Range Future, Director

Brian Doherty

Building and Construction Trades Council

Bud Ris

New England Aquarium, President and CEO

Christine Poff

Boston Parks Advocates, Lead Organizer; Franklin Park Coalition, Executive Director

Crystal Johnson

ISES - Integrative Sustainability and Environmental Solutions, Energy & Sustainability Strategist

Cynthia Loesch

Codman Square Neighborhood Council, Vice President

Edward Glaeser

Harvard University, Eleanor Glimp Professor of Economics in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Taubman Center for State and Local Government, Director; Rappaport Institute of Greater Boston, Director

Jacqueline Douglas

Livable Streets Alliance, Executive Director

Jhana Senxian

Sustainability Guild International, CEO

Kelly Saito

Gerding Edlen, President

Magdalena Ayer

Maverick Association of Residents

Marilyn Swartz-Lloyd

MASCO, President and CEO

Mark Liu

Chinese Progressive Association, Deputy Director

Nancy Kilburn

Greater Boston Interfaith Organization; Roxbury Presbyterian Church Social Impact Center, Director

Penn Loh

Tufts University Masters of Public Policy Program and Community Practice, Director

Rick Dimino

A Better City, President and CEO

Robbin Peach

MassPort, Program Manager for Resilience

Rosanne Foley

Fields Corner Main Street, Director

Stephanie Pollack

Northeastern University, Dukakis Center for Urban and Regional Policy, Associate Director

David Brewster

EnerNOC, Inc, President

Tom McShane

Dewey Square Group, Principal; Boston Harbor Island Alliance, Director

Vivien Li

The Boston Harbor Association, President



City of Boston Representatives

Brian Swett

Chief of Environment, Energy and Open Space; Steering Committee Chair

Councilor Matt O’Malley

Boston City Council, Environment and Parks Committee Chair

John Barros

Chief of Economic Development

Sheila Dillon

Chief of Housing

Felix Arroyo                 

Chief of Health and Human Services

James Gillooly

Boston Transportation Department, Commissioner

Barbara Ferrer

Boston Public Health Commission, Director

Michael Dennehy

Public Works Department, Commissioner




About C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40)

The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. C40 was established in 2005 and expanded via a partnership in 2006 with President William J. Clinton’s Climate Initiative. The current chair of the C40 is Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes; the 108th Mayor of New York City, Michael R. Bloomberg serves as President of the Board. To learn more about the work of C40 and our Cities, please visit, follow us on Twitter @c40cities and like us on Facebook at



Related Links