Mayor Menino Celebrates the Boston Neighborhood Basketball League Champions
Photos from the event can be found on BCYF's Facebook:
| | More
For Immediate Release
November 18, 2013
Released By:
Boston Centers for Youth & Families
For More Information Contact:
Sandy Holden

Mayor Thomas M. Menino today joined Interim Chief of Human Services/BCYF Executive Director Chris Byner in celebrating the six Championship teams from the 44th season of the BCYF Boston Neighborhood Basketball League.

“The greatest thing about the BNBL is the safe, healthy fun it provides for 2,000 boys and girls every year,” said Mayor Menino.  “And it teaches kids the importance of teamwork and good sportsmanship.”

The Boston Neighborhood Basketball League is the oldest municipal basketball league in the country and is one of BCYF’s most popular programs. With the support of Reebok as the title sponsor for BNBL, BNBL engages over 2,000 boys and girls ages 6-18 from across Boston. Each summer, 200 teams participate annually for eight weeks at 25 locations across the City.

In July, a new partnership with Suffolk Construction added an educational component as well as strategic support to this renowned league.  In addition, Suffolk has committed to sponsoring the Championship Celebration. 

“The tip-off of BNBL each summer marks the official kick-off of summer in Boston and BNBL is one of BCYF’s most popular and well-known programs,” said Chris Byner, Chief of Human Services/BCYF Executive Director. “Thank you to Reebok for the longtime support of BNBL and Suffolk for our new partnership.” 

This event also recognized the winners of two awards presented annually at the Championship Celebration; the Founder’s Award to Coach Willie Maye for his longtime support of BNBL and the Sportsmanship Award to Let’s Ball Together for their graciousness in defeat during the finals.  The Boston Celtics donated raffle prizes including a team autographed ball, Jeff Green autographed photo, and game tickets.  The Celtics also provided game tickets to the Veteran’s Day game to all the BNBL Championship team members and sent former player and former BNBL player, Dana Barros, to speak to the youth.

After the speaking program, players, coaches and families got the chance to enjoy an evening of free bowling, entertainment and games.

BNBL 2013 Champions:

13 & Under Boys - Lee School (BCYF Grove Hall)

Coaches: Marvin Wright   &   Darryl Tyler

Kyle Butler                        Dante Eldridge            Brycen Goodine

Elijah Hemingway             Javon Jones               Abdul Meslim

David Mitchell                   Andre Reeves             Ajahn Rue

Korvonne Whitchall           David William              Marcus Wright

15 & Under Boys - The Rebels (BCYF Hyde Park)

Coaches: Eugene Austin   &   Stephan Miller

Jonathan Casseus        Benjamin Chitolie        Ian Holder

Lionel James                Dreshaun Johnson      Dimmone Marshall

Victor Monegro             Deven Palmer             DeShon Teixeira

Tyreek Walker

18 & Under Boys - Spartans (BCYF Perkins)

Coaches: Joe Chatman   &   Al Rue

Ernie Chatman                     Kris Ervin                 Frantz Francois

Braxton Gulley-Mabry         Ryan Jones              Shawn Miller

Markus Neale                      Freddie Oliveira       Alijah Rue

13 & Under Girls - Boston Showstoppers (BCYF Madison Park)

Coaches: Clinton Lassiter   &   Al Smith

Katherine Bernardez      Amani Boston            Mariana Crisanto

Shanya Drayton             Xyianna Hairston       Kiara Ansley-Hinds

Arienne Howard             Allison Lino                Chase McMillan

Dericka Smith                Serena Smith            Ariana Vanderhoop

15 & Under Girls - Boston Showstoppers (BCYF Madison Park)

Coaches: Kenneth Grubbs   &   Clinton Lassiter

Me'Ara Carter          Taneja Drayton          Amaya Finklea

Gianni Hill                 Masseny Kaba          Jaquelah Lassiter

Sayawni Lassiter      Adia Maund               Ja'Najia Walker-Holliman

Nala Watson            Zharia Wilcox

18 & Under Girls - Lee School (BCYF Shelburne)

Coaches: Eric Bradshaw   &   Maurice Long

Amari Bradshaw      Araion Bradshaw       Mercedes Cunningham

Brianna Hardy          Adia Maund               Alexandra Maund

Asia Mitchell             Shai-Ann Nance        Ashley Serrette Kiara Serrette    Marissa Serrette         Jacqueline Spears




Related Links