White House Names Local 'Champions of Change'
Jessica Mulholland & Wayne Hanson, Government Technology
| | More
September 21, 2012
Geri Joyce Killarney

Today, the White House honored 13 local government officials for “creating a more open and innovative government through entrepreneurship.”

 The officials were named “Local Innovation Champions of Change” through a White House program that recognizes innovators in various sectors of the economy. Award recipients worked to build a better future for their citizens, create jobs in their community, and ensure more efficient and effective government by making information and public data more accessible, the White House said.

 The 13 Local Innovation Champions of Change are:

  • Phil Bertolini, CIO and deputy county executive, Oakland County, Mich.
  • Mary Bunting, city manager, Hampton, Va.
  • Adel Ebeid, chief innovation officer, Philadelphia
  • Michael Flowers, analytics director, New York City
  • Carolyn Hogg, CIO, Fresno, Calif.
  • Michele Hovet, deputy city manager, Arvada, Colo.
  • Nigel Jacob and Chris Osgood, co-chairs, Mayor’s Office of New Urban Mechanics, Boston
  • Doug Matthews, chief communications director, Austin, Texas
  • Jay Nath, chief innovation officer, San Francisco
  • John Tolva, CTO, Chicago
  • Ted Smith, chief of economic growth & innovation, Louisville Metro Government, Kentucky
  • Rob White, director of economic development, Livermore, Calif.



News Article

Image & Video Gallery


Related Links