Mayor Menino Names Author Dennis Lehane to the Board of Trustees of the Boston Public Library
| | More
For Immediate Release
December 01, 2011
Released By:
Mayor's Office
For More Information Contact:
Mayor's Press Office

Mayor Thomas M. Menino today announced Dennis Lehane as the newest Trustee of the Boston Public Library.  Lehane was sworn in at a brief ceremony in the Mayor’s office at City Hall.  Lehane’s appointment fills the vacant spot left by the retirement of James Carroll.  Lehane follows in the footsteps of other authors including Carroll, Doris Kearns Goodwin, and David McCullough.

“I am very excited to welcome Mr. Lehane to the Boston Public Library Board of Trustees.  He has a true knowledge and appreciation of the neighborhoods and people of Boston and his involvement will be a wonderful asset to this important board,” Mayor Menino said.

Trustees appointed by the Mayor govern the Boston Public Library, which has an annual budget of about $39 million. Mr. Lehane joins seven other current board members, Jeffrey B. Rudman, Evelyn Arana-Ortiz, Zamawa Arenas, Donna M. DePrisco, Carol Fulp, Paul A. LaCamera, and Representative Byron Rushing.

“I am delighted to welcome Dennis Lehane to our board,” said Jeffrey B. Rudman, Chairman of the Board of Trustees.  “We have a tradition at the BPL of recruiting scholars and authors to the board.  Doris Kearns Goodwin, David McCullough, and James Carroll have all served and the tradition they represent is both continued and enhanced by the Mayor's appointment of Dennis.”

Dennis Lehane is the author of nine novels – including the New York Times bestsellers Gone, Baby, Gone; Mystic River; Shutter Island; and The Given Day. His most recent book is Moonlight Mile.

“Dennis Lehane brings a keen appreciation of Boston neighborhoods to the board. He has long been a champion of public libraries and understands how essential libraries are in Boston today and will be for future generations,” said Amy E. Ryan, President of the Boston Public Library.




Related Links