City Website Receives Honors from Computerworld
2007 Laureate Award - Honoring those who use Information Technology to benefit society
| | More
For Immediate Release
June 04, 2007
Released By:
Innovation & Technology
For More Information Contact:
Geri Joyce Killarney

The Computerworld Information Technology Awards Foundation has named the City of Boston’s web site ( as a 2007 Laureate.  

 Each year, the Computerworld Honors Program seeks to recognize organizations, from a variety of Sectors, for their ongoing efforts to utilize technology in order to benefit society,” said Ron Milton, Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Computerworld Information Technology Awards Foundation and Executive Vice President of Computerworld. “We are proud to provide a platform to publicly acknowledge these contributions.”

 Mayor Menino stated “We are thrilled with the recognition received by our web site redesign.  So many of our citizens have commented to me personally on the improved look and feel of the site.”

 “The City’s website is a critical channel for the Mayor to communicate and provide services and resources to the residents of Boston.  The newly designed site is user friendly, with great functionality, offering a rich online experience for constituents,” Bill Oates, CIO, City of Boston.  The City of Boston web site is being honored for their Case Study a "Richer Online Experience for Boston Residents as a "Laureate" for 2007. 

 “Each Laureate selected for this honor understands the importance of using one’s resources and technical prowess to benefit one’s fellow man,” said Bob Carrigan, Chairman of the Computerworld Honors Program Chairmen’s Committee and President, IDG Communications.

 On June 4, 2007, Committee members and Directors will gather with the Computerworld Honors Program in Washington, D.C., to congratulate the Class of 2007—the Laureates, Finalists, 21st Century Achievement Award recipients and Leadership Award recipients. History has taught us to expect extraordinary achievements from our honorees. The Computerworld Honors Program, and mission, was established in 1988. Since then, the Program has grown immensely in size and scope, while retaining the highest standards in its recognition of IT excellence:

  • Each year, members of the Chairmen's Committee identify the organizations whose use of information technology has been especially noteworthy for the originality of its conception, the breadth of its vision and the significance of its benefit to society. These nominated organizations must meet established standards and are then asked to contribute a case study to the program's collection.
  • Each case study submission must meet 10 criteria to be designated Laureate status. The recognition of these case studies that meet Laureate status is celebrated with a formal medal ceremony where a Laureate from each case study organization is publicly recognized.
  • From the Laureates in each of 10 categories, a distinguished panel of 33 CIO-level judges selects finalists in each category. In June, the program honors these finalists with a special ceremony. At this ceremony, the Chairmen's Committee presents the 21st Century Achievement Awards to the 10 organizations selected by the judges as first among their peers within the Finalists.
  • Independent of the Laureate recognition, The Computerworld Honors Program also annually presents its Leadership Awards, each designed to honor the extraordinary lifetime achievements of selected individuals whose positive contributions to the IT revolution have left an indelible mark on the world.




Related Links