Mayor Walsh Announces 2016 Coffee Hour Series
| | More
For Immediate Release
April 21, 2016
Released By:
Mayor's Office
For More Information Contact:
Mayor's Press Office
617.635.4461

BOSTON - Thursday, April 21, 2016 - Mayor Martin J. Walsh and the Boston Parks and Recreation Department today announced that the 18th Annual Neighborhood Coffee Hour Series will run in local parks citywide from May 4 to June 22.

"We've increased our Neighborhood Coffee Hours this year to give even more residents the opportunity to learn about and discuss city services," said Mayor Walsh. "I encourage everyone to come out and enjoy our parks at these coffeehours as the warm weather approaches."

The Neighborhood Coffee Hours give residents a unique opportunity to speak directly with Mayor Walsh and other city officials about needs in their neighborhoods.

Through these discussions and a suggestion box at each site, the coffee hours give the City insight on how to improve city services. Information will be available on City programs from the Boston Public Library, Boston Public Schools, Boston Police Department, and Boston Centers for Youth & Families.

All participants will enjoy coffee and breakfast provided by Dunkin' Donuts and fresh fruit from Whole Foods Market.  In addition, each family in attendance will receive a flowering plant grown in the city's greenhouses as a gift from Mayor Walsh.  Residents at the event will also be eligible to win a raffle prize from Dunkin' Donuts.    

All coffee hours will be held from 9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Dates for the full schedule of Mayor Walsh's 2016 Neighborhood Coffee Hours are as follows. Locations are weather permitting unless otherwise noted.Coffee Hours being held in conjunction with park openings are also noted:  

Wednesday, May 4  
Doherty Playground (rain or shine)  
349 Bunker Hill Street, Charlestown  

Thursday, May 5
Almont Park
40 Almont Street, Mattpan  

Tuesday, May 10     
M Street/Medal of Honor Park
775 East First Street, South Boston 

Wednesday, May 11
Iacono Playground (rain or shine)    
150 Readville Street, Hyde Park  

Thursday, May 12   
Little Scobie Playground (with opening celebration)
36 Copeland Street, Roxbury  

Tuesday, May 17     
Peters Park   
230 Shawmut Avenue, South End  

Wednesday, May 18
Adams Park
4225 Washington Street, Rosindale  

Friday, May 20        
American Legion Playground (with opening celebration)   
35 American Legion Highway, Franklin Park, Dorchester  

Friday, May 27                
Commonwealth Avenue Mall
1 Commonwealth Avenue, Back Bay  

Wednesday, June 1  
Joyce Playground    
80 Union Street, Brighton  

Thursday, June 2     
LoPresti Park (with opening celebration)     
33 Sumner Street, East Boston  

Thursday, June 9     
Arnold Arboretum    
125 The Arborway, Jamaica Plain  

Tuesday, June 14     
Ramler Park
130 Peterborough Street, Fenway  

Wednesday, June 15
Lt. Edward Walsh and Firefighter Michael Kennedy Tot Lot  
369 LaGrange Street, West Roxbury  

Thursday, June 16   
Myrtle Street Playground     
50 Myrtle Street, Beacon Hill  

Tuesday, June 21     
Hemenway Playground (with opening celebration)  
540 Adams Street, Dorchester  

Wednesday, June 22
Elliot Norton Park (with opening celebration)
295 Tremont Street, Bay Village/Chinatown  

Wednesday, June 29  
Christopher Columbus Park (rain or shine)   
110 Atlantic Avenue, North End  

For more information and updates on possible weather cancellations, please contact the Boston Parks and Recreation Department at (617) 635-4505 or online at Facebook or Twitter @bostonparksdept.


###

Announcements

Related Links