Statement of Boston Community Leaders
List of co-signers will continue to grow, will be updated below
| | More
For Immediate Release
November 25, 2014
Released By:
Mayor's Office
For More Information Contact:
Mayor's Press Office

Boston is a City rooted proudly in the spirit of freedom and strength. We strive to be a City where our residents can express themselves, and engage in meaningful discussion and efforts to improve the most difficult issues in our society.

We recognize Boston's history and celebrate how far we have come, but we are acutely aware of the disparities that we continue to see today. We see them in outcomes in the foundations for success, from education and public health, to housing and jobs. Our city and state government and the agencies we represent are committed to being responsive and relevant, and to facilitating meaningful discussion.

We echo the sentiment of community leaders, elected officials, and clergy nationwide, calling for unity and peaceful demonstrations, and encouraging all to work together to create real, lasting change. Boston can continue a proud tradition of leadership and use this moment as an opportunity to recommit ourselves to uniting for a better Boston.


Mayor Martin J. Walsh

Boston City Council President Bill Linehan

Boston City Councilor Michael Flaherty

Boston City Councilor Michelle Wu

Boston City Councilor Steve Murphy

Boston City Councilor Ayanna Pressley

Boston City Councilor Sal LaMattina

Boston City Councilor Frank Baker

Boston City Councilor Tim McCarthy

Boston City Councilor Matt O'Malley

Boston City Councilor Tito Jackson

Boston City Councilor Josh Zakim

Boston City Councilor Mark Ciommo

Senator William N. Brownsberger

Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz

Senator Linda Dorcena Forry

Senator Michael F. Rush

Senator Sal DiDomenico

Representative Carlo Basile

Representative Evandro C. Carvalho

Representative Daniel Cullinane

Representative Gloria Fox 

Representative Russell E. Holmes

Representative Kevin G. Honan

Representative Jay Livingstone

Representative Byron Rushing

Former State Representative Marie St. Fleur

Sheriff Steven Tompkins, Suffolk County

District Attorney Dan Conley, Suffolk County

William Evans, Commissioner, Boston Police Department

John McDonough, Superintendent, Boston Public Schools

Michael O’Neill, Chair, Boston School Committee

Claudio Martinez, Vice Chair, Boston School Committee

Jeri Robinson, Boston School Committee

Michael Loconto, Boston School Committee

Reverend Jeffrey Brown

Reverend Gregory G. Groover, Sr., D.Min. Pastor, Historic Charles Street A.M.E. Church (Roxbury)

Reverend David Wright, Executive Director, Black Ministerial Alliance of Greater Boston, Inc.

Father Joe White, Saint Vincent de Paul Parish

Father John Nazzarro, Executive Director, Salesian's Boys and Girls Club in East Boston

Reverend Laura Ruth Jarrett, Hope Central Church

Reverend Courtney Jones, Hope Central Church

Sister Nancy Braceland, CSJ, Casserly House

Father Richard C. “Doc” Conway

Vanessa Calderón-Rosado, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción (IBA)

Jorge Martinez, Sr., Executive Director, Project RIGHT, Inc.

Annie Kinkead, Mattapan

Michael Curry, President, Boston NAACP

Darnell Williams, President & CEO, Urban League of Eastern Massachusetts

Chris Jones, Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative

Alex Oliver-Dávila, Sociedad Latina

Paul Grogan, President & CEO, The Boston Foundation

Anabela Gomes, Brighton-Allston Improvement Association

Charlie Rose, City Year

Ali Carter, Brighton Main Streets

Rosie Hanlon, Jackson Mann Community Center

Galen Mook, Commonwheels, Allston

Paulo DeBarros, Director, Catholic Charities Teen Center at St. Peter's

Elias Monteiro, Director of Organizing, Dorchester Bay EDC

James Sullivan, Brighton

Abigail Furey, Brighton

Victoria Tolman, Brighton

John R. Cusack, Allston

Michael Franks, Brighton

Andrew Slade, Allston

Angela Holm, Brighton

Patrick Murray, West Roxbury

Carol Ridge-Martinez, Executive Director, Allston-Brighton CDC

Valerie Frias, Associate Director, Allston-Brighton CDC

Jason Desrosier, Community Engagement Coordinator, Allston-Brighton CDC


Related Links