Boston Public Library's Fall Author Talk Series
Writers of all genres will visit the Central Library in Copley Square
| | More
For Immediate Release
August 22, 2011
Released By:
Library
For More Information Contact:
Communications Office
news@bpl.org

BOSTON — August 22, 2011 — The Boston Public Library’s Fall Author Talk Series features more than two dozen talented writers. An array of authors will visit the Central Library in Copley Square to read from and discuss their latest works. Best-selling authors on the schedule include Stacy Schiff, who wrote a revealing new history of Cleopatra, and Gregory Maguire, who created Wicked and its widely popular sequels.

Several authors will appear in conversation with others, creating in-the-moment discussions on topics of current and historical interest. The Boston Public Library website features a complete list of all events at www.bpl.org/authors along with author profiles and links to the Boston Public Library catalog. The Central Library in Copley Square is located at 700 Boylston Street. The schedule is as follows:

  • Thursday, September 8, 6pm, Orientation Room
    Simon Van Booy, author of Everything Beautiful Began After
  • Friday, September 9, 12pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    Terry Brooks, author of The Measure of the Magic
  • Monday, September 12, 6pm, Boston Room
    John Ferling, author of Independence: The Struggle to Set America Free
  • Thursday, September 15, 6pm, Abbey Roomm
    David Rakoff, author of Half Empty
  • Saturday, September 17, 2pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    Hill Harper, author of The Wealth Cure: Putting Money In Its Place
  • Tuesday, September 20, 6pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    Stacy Schiff, author of Cleopatra: A Life
  • Thursday, September 22, 6pm, Boston Room
    Sebastian Barry, author of On Canaan’s Side
  • Friday, September 23, 3pm, Teen Room
    Janet Ruth Young, author of The Babysitter Murders
  • Tuesday, September 27, 6pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    Daniel Yergin, author of The Quest: Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World
  • Wednesday, October 5, 6pm, Boston Room
    Mary McGarry Morris, author of Light from a Distant Star
  • Thursday, October 6, 6pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    Frances Moore Lappé, author of EcoMind: Changing the Way We Think, to Create the World We Want
  • Wednesday, October 12, 6pm, Boston Room
    Tom Ryan and Atticus M. Finch, author of Following Atticus: Forty-Eight High Peaks, One Little Dog, and an Extraordinary Friendship
  • Monday, October 17, 6pm, Boston Room
    Mark Vonnegut, author of Just Like Someone Without Mental Illness Only More So: A Memoir
  • Wednesday, October 19, 6pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    A conversation between NPR’s Steve Inskeep, author of Instant City: Life and Death in Karachi, and Robin Young, host of WBUR's Here and Now
  • Saturday, October 22, 1pm, Boston Room
    Julie Klam, author of Love at First Bark: How Saving a Dog Can Sometimes Save Yourself
  • Tuesday, October 25, 6pm, Abbey Room
    Ted Gup, author of A Secret Gift: How One Man's Kindness – and A Trove of Letters – Revealed the Hidden History of the Great Depression
  • Thursday, October 27, 6pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    A conversation between Sylvia Nasar, author of Grand Pursuit: The Story of Economic Genius, and Amartya Sen, recipient of the 1998 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences
  • Thursday, November 3, 6pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    A conversation between Ha Jin, author of Nanjing Requiem, and Jennifer Haigh, author of Faith
  • Wednesday, November 9, 6pm, Boston Room
    Niall Ferguson, author of Civilization: The West and the Rest
  • Monday, November 14, 6pm, Boston Room
    Caroline Preston, author of The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt, and Marisa de los Santos, author of Falling Together
  • Thursday, November 17, 6pm, Abbey Room
    Claire Tomalin, author of Charles Dickens: A Life
  • Tuesday, November 29, 6pm, Rabb Lecture Hall
    Gregory Maguire, author of Out of Oz
  • Tuesday, December 6, 6pm, Abbey Room
    Barnet Schecter, author of George Washington’s America: A Biography Through His Maps. This author talk is presented in partnership by the Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library and the Boston Map Society.


For more information on the Boston Public Library’s Author Talk Series, visit the dedicated web page on the Boston Public Library website, www.bpl.org/authors.

Image & Video Gallery

Announcements

Related Links