Used Car Purchases
This document is intended to provide consumers with information regarding a specific topic. It is not meant to provide comprehensive information. For further questions, please contact the Consumer Affairs Division at (617) 635-3834.
Did you know Massachusetts's consumers have certain rights when purchasing a used car?
The USED VEHICLE WARRANTY LAW protects consumers who buy used vehicles from a dealer or private party. Dealers must provide consumers a written warranty against defects that impair the vehicle's use or safety, and requires private parties to disclose any known use or safety defects. Remedies under the law include mandatory repairs, refunds or the repurchase of the vehicle. Consumers should know that not all vehicles or defects would qualify your vehicle for repurchase. For additional information on the Used Vehicle Warranty Law consumers may call the State Office of Consumer Affairs Hotline at 1-888-283-3757.
Vehicles that are Covered: In order to be covered under written warranty provisions of the law all of the following must apply to the vehicle.
Sold by a dealer or private party in Massachusetts.
Sold by a dealer for more than $700.00.
Sold by a dealer with less than 125,000 miles at the time of sale.
Warranty Coverage (Based on Mileage):
If the mileage is unknown your warranty coverage is determined by the age of the vehicle.
Less than 40,000 miles, the warranty period is 90 days or 3,750 miles whichever comes first.
40,000 miles to 79,999 miles, the warranty period is 60 days or 2, 5000 miles whichever comes first.
80,000 miles to 124,999 miles, the warranty coverage is 30 days or 1,250 miles, whichever comes first.
Private party sellers are not required to provide a written warranty, but they must inform you before the sale is complete, of all defects the seller knows of which impair the vehicle's safety or which substantially impairs its use. Failure to disclose a known defect entitles the buyer, within 30 days, to rescind the sale and obtain a refund.
Also, consumers have additional protections under the Massachusetts Inspection Law. When purchasing a vehicle you are required to have you vehicle inspected at a registered inspection station within 7 days of purchase.