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Assessing Information for Taxpayers 
FY 2007 3rd Quarter Billing and Abatement Period 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

 
 

Tax Rates 
 
What are the tax rates for fiscal year 2007? 

The residential tax rate is $10.99 per thousand 
dollars of value. 

The rate for commercial, industrial and personal 
property accounts is $26.87 per thousand dollars of 
value. 
 

Residential Exemption 
Exemption 
What is the value of the residential exemption? How 
much will I save off my tax bill? 

The value of the residential exemption is $138,767. 
For FY 2007, the tax dollar amount saved by qualified 
homeowner/occupants is $1,525.05.  
 
How do I know if I am receiving a residential 
exemption? 

To determine whether you are receiving a residential 
exemption check your tax bill. If an amount appears to the 
right of the box marked “residential exemption” on your 
tax bill you are already receiving a residential exemption. 

If you are not currently receiving an exemption, you 
have until March 29, 2007 to apply. You must pay the full 
amount of the tax by February 1, 2007 even if you apply 
for a personal exemption.  If the application is approved, 
the exemption amount will be credited to your 4th quarter 
bill or refunded to you if you have paid your taxes in full. 
 
I am not receiving a residential exemption but I 
think I qualify. How do I apply? 

Call the Taxpayer Referral & Assistance Center at (617) 
635-4287 for an application. 

Massachusetts Laws allows the City to grant a 
residential exemption to property occupied as the principal 
legal residence of its owner on January 1 preceding the 
fiscal year it is to be applied.  This law defines the principal 
residence as the address from which the Massachusetts 
income tax return is filed. 

To be considered you must provide your Social 
Security number on the application.  Your Social Security 
number is used solely to confirm that a 2005 personal 
income tax return was filed with the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue from the address 
indicated on your application. 

Return your completed application no later than 
Thursday, March 29, 2007 to:  

 
 

Purchase Year/Residential Exemption 
Eligibility Year 
 

Calendar Year 
Purchase 

Fiscal Year Eligibility 

2005 2007 
2006 2008 
2007 2009 

 
New Applicants: 

Applications for FY2007 were sent in September 
2006 to those persons who purchased their homes 
in calendar year 2005. 

Applications for FY2008 will be sent in 
September 2007 to those persons who purchased 
their homes in calendar year 2006. 
 
My residential exemption is not on my 3rd 
quarter tax bill although I have already sent  
in my application.  What should I do? 

Residential exemptions not credited on the 3rd 
quarter tax bill will be processed after the February 1st 
payments are posted (usually by mid-February).  If 
your application is approved, you will receive a credit 
in the amount of the exemption. However, if your 
application is denied, you will receive a letter form the 
Assessing Department of this decision, as well as your 
right to appeal within 3 months. 

 
Personal Exemption 

 
What are personal exemptions? What types are 
available? 

Personal exemptions are reductions in taxes due 
to a particular personal circumstance. The 
qualifications are set forth in the Massachusetts 
General Laws.  

Personal exemptions are available to qualified 
homeowners who are:  

§ Elderly (65 years+) 

§ Blind 

§ Surviving Spouses or Minor children of 
deceased parents or Elderly (70 years+) 

§ Veterans  

Each exemption has certain eligibility requirements 
(e.g., age, income restrictions). You may not receive 
more than one personal exemption. However, if you 
qualify for two or more exemptions, you will receive 
the exemption that saves you the most money. The 
burden is on the applicant to show that he or she falls 
within the expressed terms of the exemption provision. 
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Exemptions are granted for one year only. A  
renewal application will be sent each year. It must be 
completed and returned by the indicated deadline. 
Contact the Taxpayer Referral & Assistance Center at 
(617) 635-4287 for eligibility requirements. Detailed 
information on personal exemptions is available online 
at www.cityofboston.gov/assessing.  

How do I find out if I am receiving a personal 
exemption? 

To determine whether you are receiving a 
personal exemption check your tax bill. If an amount 
appears to the right of the box marked “personal 
exemption” you are already receiving the 
exemption. 

If you are not currently receiving an exemption, 
you have until March 29, 2007 to apply. You must 
pay the full amount of the tax by February 1, 2007 
even if you apply for a personal exemption.   

If the application is approved, the exemption 
amount will be credited to your 4th quarter bill or 
refunded to you if you have paid your taxes in full. 

 
My personal exemption is not on my 3rd quarter 
tax bill although I have already sent in my 
application.  What should I do? 

Personal exemptions not credited on the 3rd 
quarter tax bill will be processed after the February 
1st payments are posted (usually by mid-February).  
If your application is approved, the exemption 
amount will be credited to your 4th quarter tax bill or 
refunded to you if you have paid your taxes in full. 
 

Property Value 
 
How did you arrive at my assessment? 

State law requires that all property be assessed at its 
full market value. Real estate sales are collected and 
researched for each neighborhood. The sale of properties 
that are comparable to yours in terms of style, age, size 
and condition form the basis of your assessment. 
 
How often does the City value property? 

Massachusetts law requires each city and town 
to conduct a complete revaluation of its property 
every three years. The city does make interim year 
adjustments to keep property values at full fair cash 
value. 
 

Tax Bill 
 
What is the City doing to reduce the tax burden 
to residential taxpayers? 

In 2004, legislation proposed by Mayor Menino 
and supported by the City Council changed the 
property classification law to provide immediate 
relief to residential taxpayers.  The Classification 
Legislation contained a 5-year schedule that would 
ultimately return the business factor to pre-2004 

levels in FY 2008 (175%).  Until that time, the commercial 
sector will continue to bear a larger portion of the overall 
tax levy than prior to 2004, thereby reducing the financial 
strain placed on the residential sector. 

The City offers a number of exemption programs to 
reduce the residential taxpayer’s financial burden.  
Homeowners who occupied their home as the primary 
residence on or before January 1, 2006, will be eligible for 
the residential exemption.  This year’s residential 
exemption will deduct $1,525 from every eligible 
homeowner’s tax bill, more than $150 over last year’s 
exemption amount.  The exemption represents 30 percent 
of the average assessed value of Boston residential 
property. Boston is one of very few cities or towns in 
Massachusetts to offer a deduction at that rate.  

In spite of the citywide increases in assessments, the 
average tax bill for a single-family homeowner receiving 
the residential exemption is $3,091. This amount remains 
well below the projected statewide median residential tax 
bill of $4,000, and is one of the lowest amounts in the 
Boston metropolitan area. 

 
I did not receive my 3rd Q tax bill? 

You can obtain a duplicate tax bill by calling the Taxpayer 
Referral & Assistance Center at 617-635-4287. Be sure to 
have your ward and parcel ID number ready when you call. 
 
I do not see my name on the tax bill. 

State Law requires the Collector’s office to send 
tax bills to the owner of record as of January 1, 
2006, the assessment date.  Ownership changes 
made after that date will be reflected in the next 
fiscal year starting on July 1, 2007. 

If you were the owner of the property prior to 
January 1, 2006, contact the Assessing Department 
Tax Data Administration unit at (617) 635-3783 for 
further information.   

Taxpayers who purchased their properties after 
January 1, 2006, may obtain a duplicate tax bill by calling 
the Taxpayer Referral & Assistance Center (TRAC) at (617) 
635-4287. 
 

Assessment 
 
I disagree with my assessment. How do I file an 
abatement? Where do I get an application? When  
are applications due? 

Taxpayers who believe that their assessment is 
incorrect may file an application for abatement. 
Applications for abatement are available at the Assessing 
Department, Room 301, City Hall (9 AM – 5PM) or obtain 
an abatement application form on-line at: 
www.cityofboston.gov/assessing.  

Applications must be filed no later than Tuesday, 
February 1, 2007. State Law prohibits the Assessing 
Department from acting on an application that is filed late. 
The Fiscal Year 2007 third quarter tax bill must be paid by 
Tuesday, February 1, 2007 even if an abatement 
application is filed. 
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Proposition 2 ½ 
 
Doesn’t Proposition 2 ½ limit my taxes? 

Because of Proposition 2½, the city’s total 
property tax levy (the amount raised from property 
taxes) can only increase 2.5% over the previous 
year’s tax levy.  The provisions of Proposition 2½ 
apply to the overall tax levy not to an individual tax 
bill. 
 
If the City’s tax levy is only increased by 2.5%, 
then why is my tax bill increasing so sharply? 

Your tax bill is based on your property 
assessment as of January 1, 2006.  Your assessment 
was determined using 2005 sales figures for homes 
in your neighborhood that were comparable in terms 
of style, age, size and condition.  While the market 
for residential property has weakened in 2006, by 
law your Fiscal Year 2007 assessment is based on 
market activity from 2005.  Any weakness in the 
current market will be incorporated into your Fiscal 
Year 2008 assessment. 

Additionally, classification legislation was passed 
in 2004 providing immediate relief to residential 
taxpayers at a time when commercial property was  
stagnant or declining.  The legislation contained a 5-
year schedule whereby commercial taxpayers would 
pay a greater percentage of the overall tax levy, 
with the business factor returning to pre-2004 levels 
in FY 2008 (175%).  In FY 2007, the business factor 
shifted from 190% in FY 2006 to 183%.  The 
downward shift in the business factor has increased 
the residential sector’s share of the overall tax levy. 
 

Assessing information 
 
Is property information available online? How 
do I obtain property information online? 

Property information, including property values 
and new tax rates, is available online at 
www.cityofboston.gov/assessing. 
 

Common Questions to Assessors 
 
An Assessor never came to my house, how 
could they increase my assessment? 

The Assessing Department conducted a 
recollection project 5 years ago to document home 
conditions and update parcel records. These records 
are updated when a sale takes place or when building 
permits are issued. Assessors in turn use this data to 
come up with property assessments. Up to date 
property information makes it possible to determine 
assessed values without making a visit to a property. 
 
 

 

I plan on renovating my property  
(i.e. new kitchen and baths); will this 
increase my tax bill? 

Any major improvement increases the value of 
your home. A home with updated kitchens and 
baths in a typical cycle will yield a higher sale 
price than a comparable home with original 
kitchens and baths. Does that equate to a higher 
tax bill? Yes, because the improvement to your 
home will increase the value of your asset. 
 

 
 


