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Taxpayer Referral &
Assistance Center

(617) 635-4287

TRAC is a one-stop taxpayer
assistance center. If you have
questions about:

Personal exemption
Residential exemption
Current real estate tax
Current personal property tax
Current motor vehicle excise
Ward and parcel number
Changes of ownership
Duplicate tax bills

Property tax abatements
Current year tax bill payments
Motor Vehicle Excise

Boat Excise

Call: the Taxpayer Referral &
Assistance Center (TRAC) at
(617) 635-4287.

Log-On:
www.cityofboston.gov/assessing

NOTE: Tax Payment

The filing of an application does
not mean you can postpone the
payment of your tax.

Veteran Exemption -

Fiscal Year 2008 (July 1, 2007 - June 30, 2008)

The veterans exemption *22-22E provides assistance to certain veterans who were not dis-
honorably discharged and who meet certain disablility and residency requirements, and
their spouses,surviving spouses or surviving parents. Please note that if you are an elderly
veteran and have a limited income, you may be eligible for a greater amount of assistance under
personal exemption 41C. * Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 59, § 5, Clause 22-22F

What is a Personal Exemption?

A personal exemption reduces all or a
portion of the taxes assessed on a parcel of

property.

What is the Exemption Amount?

Taxpayers who are eligible for the Veterans
Exemption *22 - 22E will receive a reduction in their
tax liability of between $400 and $1,500, depending
on the nature of their disability. In addition, the City
of Boston has elected to provide additional relief of
up to twice the amount, provided that the additional
amount does not:

1. reduce your final tax bill below the amount

of tax you owed in the previous year; and

2. reduce the taxable value of your property
below 10 percent of the assessed value.

Paraplegic veterans with service-connected
disabilities will be exempted from their tax liabilities.

How Do | Apply?

File an application with the Assessing
Department, Room 301, City Hall, Boston, MA 02201
within three months of the mailing date of the third
quarter tax bill for Fiscal year 2008.

Renewals
If you were granted an exemption last year,
the Assessing Department will send you a renewal
application. However, it is your responsibility to
ensure that a renewal is filed each year.

New Applications

Contact the Taxpayer Referral & Assistance
Center (TRAC) Mezzanine, City Hall, Boston, MA
02201 at (617) 635-4287. Office hours are Monday
- Friday, 9AM - 5 PM. Supporting documentation,
including a service connected disability certificate
and all other materials that will help the Board of
Assessors make a determination, will be requested.

Domicile & Residency Requirements

Domicile

The veteran, or if deceased, the veteran’s surviving
spouse or parent, must occupy the property as his
or her domicile on July 1 of the tax year.

Residency
The veteran must:

1.) have been a Massachusetts resident for at least
six months before entering the service, OR

2.) have lived in Massachusetts for at least (5)
consecutive years after discharge prior to the
filing for exemption.

Ownership

The qualifying candidate must possess a sufficient
ownership in the domicile as of July 1 of the tax year. This
ownership is satisfied if the person’s ownership interest
is worth at least $2000. The person may own this interest
solely, as a joint owner or as a tenant in common.

Eligibility Requirements & Amounts
Amount Who is Eligible

$400 Veteran, spouse of a veteran or surviving
spouse who remains unmarried, with a ser-
vice connected disability of at least 10% as
certified by the Veterans Administration office

$400 Veteran, or surviving spouse of a veteran
who remains unmarried, who was awarded
the purple heart

$400 Parent of a veteran who lost their life during
wartime

$400 Surviving spouses of WWI veterans who
resided in Massachusetts for the past five
years and whose whole estate does not
exceed $20,000

**$750
-1500

**Certain exemptions apply to veterans who
lost limbs or eyes, were awarded certain
medals, who have a 100% disablity with
either specially adaptive housing OR who
are unable to work. (*NOTE: If the subject
property is greater than a single-family house, only
that fraction of the tax that corresponds to the part
occupied by the veteran, or if deceased, the surviv-
ing spouse, is allowed)

Full Paraplegic veteran certified by the Veterans
Administration as paraplegic and their surv-
ving spouse

**xEyll
- 1st five

*** Surviving spouses of soldiers, sailors or
guardsmen who died from injury or disease
years/up | due to being in combat zone, or who are
to $2,500 | missing in action or presumed dead due to
after combat. (*** NOTE: Surviving spouses of soldiers,
sailors or guardsmen who died or were presumed dead
from combat on or after 9/11/01 may also receive retro-
active exemptions beginning as early as fiscal year 2003.
Eligibility depends on the date of death or presumed
death, and the satisfaction of all other qualifications)

A COPY OF THE TRUST AND A NOTARIZED COPY OF
SCHEDULE OF BENEFICIARIES 1S NECESSARY TO
PROCESS THE APPLICATION




