
Condo Conversion and Tax Bills 
 
 Massachusetts Law Governs Tax Bill Ownership Recordings 

Due to the property tax structure established by Massachusetts statute, there are occasions 
where property may change hands or uses and those changes are not immediately reflected on 
the tax bills sent out by the City. 
 
The tax bills for any given Fiscal Year relate to the property’s status and attributes as of the 
January 1st preceding that Fiscal Year.  For example, for Fiscal Year 2010 (7/1/2009 – 6/30/2010)  
tax bills address the owner of record of the property as of 1/1/2009. 

 

Condo conversion and tax bills 

The timing of property ownership recordings can create confusion in many instances, especially 
when a property has been converted into a condominium.  For every condominium created 
there will be a window of time when the condo unit owners are not each receiving their own 
individualized bill.  This DOES NOT mean that each condo unit owner is not responsible for 
property taxes. 
 
For the period of time before the condo unit owners get their own individualized bills, each unit 
owner is responsible for paying his share of the total property tax bill.  A unit owner’s share of the 
bill can be calculated by multiplying the unit owner’s percentage interest in the common area of 
his condominium by the bill amount. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Condo unit tax bill 

 
 
Eventually, you will receive your own individualized bill for your unit.  Most of the new 
condominiums created are issued 1st quarter tax bills on July 1st and are due August 1st.   
In cases where inaccurate plans or problems are encountered while reviewing recorded 
instruments, the Assessing Department will issue bills for those condominiums in the 3rd quarter.  
The bills are issued on January 1st and due February 1st .  The timing of this will depend upon 
when the Master Deed for your condominium was recorded.  Please refer to the timeline below 
for information about upcoming years. 

 
Calendar Year Converted      Conversion Reflected on 1st QTR Tax Bills for Fiscal Year 
  2008      2010 
  2009      2011 
  2010      2012 

 

EXAMPLE:  a five unit building converts to a condominium on August 30th, 2009 and the building gets 
a quarterly property tax bill in November 2009 for $2,500.  The condominiums Master Deed lists out the 
common area percentages . Tax Bill amount for each owner is show below : 
 

UNIT Common Area 
Percentage 

Tax Bill Amount Owner 
Responsible for 

1 25% $625 
2 20% $500 
3 20% $500 
4 20% $500 
5 15% $375 

 
NOTE:  Keep track of any payments that you make on your taxes for your unit, if another unit owner does not 
pay their portion of the overall tax bill you want to have proof showing that you have paid your portion.

Questions.  
Contact Tax Data 
Administration at 

(617) 635-3783 


